Beautiful homes in the most important historic site of the American Civil War

Our Tour Venues
Being Updated for Fall

Ahern's Belle of the Bends
This breathtaking Italianate mansion sits atop a bluff overlooking the
Mississippi River and is one of Mississippi's best preserved historical homes.
It showcases beautiful oval, arched woodwork and trim and intricate Bavarian
plaster and gold leaf crown moldings throughout. Four original chandeliers
and many original antiques adorn its interior.

Steele Cottage
Built in 1829, the home is more primitive than our picture of antebellum.
Constructed along a hillside, the downstairs was built of handmade brick
with the best plumbing available - an indoor cistern. Occupied by the
newspaper editor during the Siege of Vicksburg, the cottage gave up its
wallpaper for printing.

Duff Green
The lovely 3-story Duff Green Mansion was constructed by
skilled slave labor and was used as a hospital for Confederate and
Union solders during the Civil War.

McNutt House
Governor Alexander McNutt's home prior to his becoming the State's
12th Governor is among the oldest residences in Vicksburg and is listed in the
National Register of Historic Places in addition to State and County
Historic Landmarks.


Featherston-Magruder House
One of the few surviving antebellum homes in the dead center of historic
Vicksburg, the Featherston-Magruder House is a magnificent example of an
Italianate Revival remodel of a classic Greek Revival architecture. The original
building, erected in 1831, was built by Richard Featherston, a planter and
school teacher, to put his family and the town's first school room all under the
same roof.  The Featherston family was a perfect example of early American
migration and its impact on the civil war.

McRaven Tour Home
Hear the fascinating and sometimes eerie stories about the people who once
called McRaven home. National Geographic Magazine has called it the
"time capsule of the South." Explore the architecture of three different time
periods: Frontier (1797), Empire (1836), and Greek Revival (1849).


Image result for catherine's palace vicksburg ms

s Palace
Built during the nineteenth century (1839) on the Old Jackson Road leading to
downtown Vicksburg, as a home and grocery story by Christian and Dorothea
Fleckenstein of Bavaria, Germany. It served as a home and grocery store in the
twentieth century by Italian immigrants, Joseph and Catherine Coccaro.

Catherine’s Palace is being preserved in the twenty-first century as a Bed and
Breakfast enterprise. Currently preserved on the exterior, but incomplete on the
interior. Come tour a work in progress in preparation for Vicksburg’s third century.

Christ Episcopal Church

The cornerstone of Christ Episcopal Church was laid on April 19, 1830.
A simple structure of brick and mortar with wood framing complete with a
cast iron bell from Philadelphia. Bishop James Harvey Otey of Tennessee conducted
 the formal consecration ceremony on May 3, 1843.

Reverend W. W. Lord was rector in 1851 and despite constant bombardment
from Union gunboats during the Civil War, conducted daily church services.
The historical marker in front of the church offers all who come, a place to find,
at least for a short time, in all the turmoil, a sense of peace, some degree of sanctuary,
and maybe for a time not be afraid. 


Mary Harwood House
The house was built on a bluff facing the Mississippi River. 
In 1862, an ammunitions magazine was built in front of the house by Confederate
soldiers for a cannon on this property that was used in the defense of Vicksburg. 
Damage from intensive shelling by Union gunboats during the Siege is still visible
inside the house.
Private Residence, No Web Site

Image result for vicksburg constitution firehouse

Old Constitution Firehouse
The (Old) Constitution Firehouse, one of Vicksburg's first firehouses,
is believed to be the most intact Victorian fire station in the state.
Built in 1870, the building retains the central stall, barracks room,
hip roof and cupola, and bell which was used to call the volunteers.
The presence of the Constitution Firehouse made the Openwood/Main Street area
one of the most desirable residential districts in Vicksburg before 1876.
Today it is home to the Vicksburg Art Association, a non-profit organization
that has promoted and celebrated the local arts and its artisans for more than 42 years.

Planters Hall
Planters’ Hall, circa 1834 originally housed a bank with the President's
living quarters on the second floor. A separate kitchen and carriage house
also occupy the property. The building was occupied by officers of the
28th Louisiana Regiment during the Vicksburg siege. In 1956 it was
acquired by the Vicksburg Council of Garden Clubs, Inc. and added to the
 National Register of Historic Places. Today it operates as a school.
Private Residence, No Web Site

Cedar Grove
John Alexander Klein, a planter and businessman, built this Greek Revival
style mansion for his 16-year-old bride. Klein bought many of the Italian
marble fireplaces, French empire gasoliers, Bohemian glass for the doorway,
towering gold leaf mirrors, exquisite clocks and paintings while in Europe on their
honeymoon. The mansion was completed in 1852. During the siege, the home experienced
bombardment by cannon. A cannon ball is still lodged in the parlor wall.
The house remained in tact mainly because it had been used as a Union hospital.


Vicksburg Pilgrimage  ·  · 601-456-0420