VICKSBURG SPRING PILGRIMAGE  
    Beautiful homes in the most important historic site of the American Civil War
   
PRESENTED BY THE VICKSBURG BED AND BREAKFAST ASSOCIATION
    HOME     ADDITIONAL THINGS TO DO     OUR TOUR HOMES     PLACES TO STAY

Our Tour Venues
 



Ahern's Belle of the Bends
This breathtaking Italianate mansion sits atop a bluff overlooking the
Mississippi River and is one of Mississippi's best preserved historical homes.
It showcases beautiful oval, arched woodwork and trim and intricate Bavarian
plaster and gold leaf crown moldings throughout. Four original chandeliers
and many original antiques adorn its interior.
Private Residence



Duff Green
The lovely 3-story Duff Green Mansion was constructed by skilled slave labor in
1856 by a local cotton broker for his bride. The mansion was built for
entertaining in the grand antebellum lifestyle, a life that was short-lived when
war reached Vicksburg in 1863. Duff Green is credited with saving his
neighborhood, including adjoining Christ Episcopal Church, by designating the home
as a hospital for both Union and Confederate soldiers.
http://www.duffgreenmansion.com



McNutt House
Alexander Gallatin McNutt (Mississippi's 12th Governor) purchased the
house in 1829 and added the rear wing in 1832. He and his wife (Betsy) lived
 in the house during his terms in the State Senate leading up to his election
as Governor. McNutt was considered one of the great speakers during a time
of many great orators and a strong proponent for banking reform. The
main floor contains beautiful original coal burning fireplaces, family antique
 period furnishings, and antique and vintage curios and letters. It 
is
among the oldest residences in Vicksburg and is listed in the National Register
of Historic Places in addition to State and County Historic Landmarks.

http://www.themcnutthouse.com

 



Featherston-Magruder House
One of the few surviving antebellum homes in the dead center of historic
Vicksburg, the Featherston-Magruder House is a magnificent example of an
Italianate Revival remodel of a classic Greek Revival architecture. The original
building, erected in 1831, was built by Richard Featherston, a planter and
school teacher, to put his family and the town's first school room all under the
same roof.  The Featherston family was a perfect example of early American
migration and its impact on the civil war.
Private Residence    


McRaven Tour Home
Hear the fascinating and sometimes eerie stories about the people who once
called McRaven home. National Geographic Magazine has called it the
"time capsule of the South." Explore the architecture of three different time
periods: Frontier (1797), Empire (1836), and Greek Revival (1849).
https://www.mcraventourhome.com

 



Christ Episcopal Church

The cornerstone of Christ Episcopal Church was laid on April 19, 1830.
A simple structure of brick and mortar with wood framing complete with a
cast iron bell from Philadelphia. Bishop James Harvey Otey of Tennessee conducted
 the formal consecration ceremony on May 3, 1843.

Reverend W. W. Lord was rector in 1851 and despite constant bombardment
from Union gunboats during the Civil War, conducted daily church services.
The historical marker in front of the church offers all who come, a place to find,
at least for a short time, in all the turmoil, a sense of peace, some degree of sanctuary,
and maybe for a time not be afraid. 

St. George Orthodox Church
At the latter part of the nineteenth century, a handful of people
who migrated from Syria and Lebanon traveled up the Mississippi River
to settle in Vicksburg. They formed a community of their own, thousands
of miles from their homeland. Although the early days were difficult and challenging,
these courageous people worked hard and stuck together to acquire
their own house of worship. St. George was one of the first Orthodox churches
in the southern part of the United States.
In 2006, St. George celebrated its 100th anniversary, as the oldest
Antiochian Orthodox Church in Mississippi and the South.
http://www.stgeorgevicksburg.org



Baer House Inn
In 1870, Leona and Lazrus Baer constructed this huge Victorian home
with a goal of impressing guests with the elaborate woodwork and a grand ballroom. 
It was designed to be similar to the large Eastlake Victorians just becoming
popular for the wealthy in America. Mrs. Baer was adamant that the kitchen be
inside the house and that there be privies on the first floor for guests
and on the second floor for family; a his-and-hers two-story outhouse
was the result! The home had 11 fireplaces, 4 cisterns, a wellhouse
and a carriage house. It is one of the best examples of Eastlake Victorian style
in the state of Mississippi and is included in "Victorian Houses of Mississippi.”
The Baer House Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

http://www.baerhouseinn.com

Cedar Grove
John Alexander Klein, a planter and businessman, built this Greek Revival
style mansion for his 16-year-old bride. Klein bought many of the Italian
marble fireplaces, French empire gasoliers, Bohemian glass for the doorway,
towering gold leaf mirrors, exquisite clocks and paintings while in Europe on their
honeymoon. The mansion was completed in 1852. During the siege, the home experienced
bombardment by cannon. A cannon ball is still lodged in the parlor wall.
The house remained in tact mainly because it had been used as a Union hospital.
http://www.cedargroveinn.com



Holy Trinity Episcopal Church
Holy Trinity Episcopal Church was founded in 1869 by members of Vicksburg's
first Episcopal parish, Christ Church. Over the next decade, the congregation
worshipped regularly in the chapel while raising funds to build the new church.
In 1878, a yellow fever epidemic struck Vicksburg and three of the founding
members of Holy Trinity died. The building project was delayed six months
while the congregation mourned this loss. The congregation worshipped in the
new church building on March 28, 1880, and celebrated the completion of the
building and also installation of the first stained glass windows. The church building
was finally consecrated on June 24, 1894, after completion of the interior work,
furnishing, and payment of the final construction debt.

The Mary Harwood House
The house was built on a bluff facing the Mississippi River.
In 1862, an ammunitions magazine was built in front of the house by
 Confederate soldiers for a cannon on this property that was used in the
defense of Vicksburg. Damage from intensive shelling by Union gunboats
 during the Siege is still visible inside the house.
Private Residence

Corey's Place aka the Schwartz House
The Schwartz House (currently known as Corey’s Place) was built about
1880 by Sam and Caroline Schwartz. This 
two-story clapboard
Queen Ann residence with a slate-covered hip roof with cross gables
over projecting bays has plenty of Eastlake detailing.
Mr. Schwartz, a German immigrant who came to America when he was
just 17 years old, was a wholesale grocer, a cotton factor, heavily involved
in community affairs, and a prominent member of the Jewish Synagogue.

Private Residence    
 

The Magnolias
This site was once owned by the Vick Family for whom Vicksburg was named.
Hand-picked lumber was air dried on site before construction began.
Materials and workmanship for the special pierced columns on the front
porches, finely-crafted brackets, balustrades and friezes were reputedly
the finest of the period.

Some of the original gas light fixtures remain. Iron medallions
decorate the chandeliers in the parlor and dining rooms, which are
 joined by massive pocket doors. The stairway has an elaborate hand-sawed
Newell that ascends straight to the second floor.

Private Residence

 

Vicksburg Pilgrimage  ·  vicksburgpilgrimage@gmail.com  · 601-456-0420